Lions Place Five



Lions Place Five on the SSC All Conference Team

SAINT LEO, Fla. – The Saint Leo women’s soccer team, led by two first team selections, placed five student-athletes on the Sunshine State All-Conference teams, it was announced Thursday by SSC Commissioner Jay Jones.

Hannah Beard and Sara Macko each were voted in as first team members, while Francesca Williams made the second team. Defender Dari Alcantara was an at-large second team member and sophomore forward Pia Soesemann made the honorable mention squad.

Beard, the 2008 Player of the Year, had another outstanding season for the Lions. Aside from tying Casie Poyssick’s all-time points’ record with 117, The Liverpool, England native led the team in goals scored with 12 and points with 27. The senior started in 12 of 14 contests and was responsible for one game-winning goal while tallying nearly 1150 minutes of playing time.  She ranked first in the conference in goals-per-game (0.92), third in goals scored (12), and points-per-game (2.00).

Joining Beard on the squad was her teammate Macko. Macko was the epitome of consistency for SLU, scoring eight goals and adding six assists. She was responsible for four game-winning tallies and 22 total points. The midfielder started in 13 of 14 contests and was a perfect 3-for-3 from the penalty kick area. Also, her 22 points ranked her sixth in the conference and per 1.69 points-per-game ranked fourth.

On the defensive side, Williams was a force in the middle. Aside from scoring a goal and adding three assists, the Formby, England native helped lead a defense that conceded only 21 goals in 14 contests. Fellow defender Alcantara also played a significant role in the Lions’ defensive scheme. A mainstay in the back four, her efforts helped the Lions to a pair of shutouts and held opponents to a 1.46 goals-against-average. She also contributed with a goal and an assist.

Soesemann, a second team member in 2008, was voted on the distinguished team again. A scoring threat for SLU, the tough and physical Berlin, Germany native finished the year third on the team in scoring with 18 points. She accumulated seven goals, two of which were game-winners, and added four assists. She played and started in every game and played in 1,140 minutes. 

Voting for the all-conference women's soccer team was done by the league's coaches and sports information directors.

F - Hannah Beard, Saint Leo, Senior
F - Teresa Brantley, Florida Tech, Senior
F - Melissa Ortiz, Lynn, Sophomore
M - Alexis Hernandez, Nova Southeastern, Junior
M - Rachel Jakubowski, Rollins, Senior
M - Sara Macko, Saint Leo, Senior
D - Leah Hirsch, Rollins, Junior
D - Charlotte Murrell, Rollins, Sophomore
D - Meagan Thomas, Rollins, Junior
GK - Melissa Pyles, Florida Tech, Senior
At-Large - DeeDee Newland, Florida Tech, Junior

Player of the Year - Teresa Brantley, Florida Tech
Offensive Player of the Year - Teresa Brantley, Florida Tech
Defensive Player of the Year - Meagan Thomas, Rollins
Coach of the Year - Tony Amato, Rollins
Freshman of the Year - Melissa Madrid, Barry

F - Chelsea Brady, Rollins, Junior
F - Princess Haley, Florida Southern, Junior
F - Melissa Madrid, Barry, Freshman
M - Jackie Bachteler, Florida Southern, Junior
M - Alex Hoover, Florida Southern, Sophomore
M - Sara Lewis, Florida Tech, Junior
D - Mindy DeCara, Lynn, Senior
D - Ann-Marie Helgestad, Florida Tech, Sophomore
D - Francesca Williams, Saint Leo, Sophomore
GK - Michelle Dillingham, Rollins, Sophomore
At-Large - Dari Alcantara, Saint Leo, Junior
At-Large - Brittany Rainbow, Florida Tech, Sophomore

F - Pia Soesemann, Saint Leo, Sophomore
M - Brittany Evernden, Lynn, Junior