MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

The Atlantic Coast Conference, with a total of nine selections, is the league with the most representatives among 42 female athletes named to the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy Watch List for the 2011 season.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. The recipients are selected by head coaches of NCAA Division I programs who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

Four other conferences had five players each selected to the list: the Big 10, the Big East, the Pac-12 and the Southeastern Conference. Ten of the players named to the Watch List are returning semifinalists from the 2010 award, including Melissa Henderson (Garland, Texas), a senior forward for reigning national champion Notre Dame who is the lone returnee from the three 2010 finalists. A total of 34 different schools are represented on the list.

Voting for the MAC Hermann Trophy is conducted in late November, when a field of 15 semifinalists is reduced to three finalists. Those three will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 6, 2012, where a news conference will be held to announce the winner, followed by a banquet to honor the three finalists. more